City Elections

Schedule & Precincts
The general election to elect officers of the city shall be held on the second Saturday in May of each year. For information about Dallas County voting precincts and additional election information, please view the Dallas County Elections website.

Acceptable Credentials for Voting in Person
Photo identification is now required to vote in Texas, effective immediately. Find out more information by reading a brochure about acceptable credentials.

Elective Officers & Term of Office
The members of the City Council of the City of Cedar Hill, which includes 6 Councilmen and a Mayor, shall be the only elective officers of the city. The Mayor presides over council meetings and is recognized as the official head of the city government. In the absence of the Mayor, the Mayor pro tem will perform the duties of the Mayor. The term of office for all elected officials of the City of Cedar Hill shall be for a period of 3 years.

Where to Register to Vote
Dallas County Residents
Residents of Dallas County who wish to register to vote should contact the Voter Registrar at the Dallas County Elections Department located at:
Health and Human Services Building
2377 N. Stemmons Freeway
Suite 820
Dallas, TX
Ph: 214.819.6300

Ellis County Residents
Residents of Ellis County should contact the Ellis County Voter Registrar located at:
217 S. Rogers
Waxahachie, TX
Ph: 972.923.5195

Additional Locations
For additional locations where you may register to vote in person, please contact the appropriate voter registrar’s office.

Mail-In Registration
Mail-in registration cards are available at:
Cedar Hill Government Center
285 Uptown Blvd.
Cedar Hill, TX 75104


Zula B. Wylie Library
225 Cedar St.
Cedar Hill, TX 75104